Author to speak

The Oconee County Library will host a reading by Eddie Whitlock, the author of “Evil is Always Human,” at 7 p.m. Jan. 7.

The book is Whitlock’s first novel. Whitlock, a native of Griffin, currently works for the Athens Regional Library System. Fans of Flannery O’Connor and Truman Capote will enjoy hearing from the writer, according to the library. Those attending will be entered into a giveaway for one of the author’s books. For more information, call (706) 769-3950.